headshot3.jpg

My story

I was born and raised on the South Shore of Long Island, NY.  I found my love technology at age 10 when my dad brought home our first computer.  At that point it was just interest, like many other things in a 10 year old's life. My father, being a math person, continued to foster my love for technology.  As I grew up and an electronic superstore moved into the neighborhood, we would spend hours in the store and end up forgetting why we were there in the first place.

As I grew older I began to explore the different areas of technology, there weren't nearly as many then as there are today.  It was about this time that I began running.  Freshman year of high school to be exact. I mostly did it to stay in shape for other sports, but I enjoyed it and was pretty good at it.  I qualified for the NYS Federation Meet as an individual 3 out of the 4 years I ran Cross Country, and brought home an individual League Championship my junior year of high school.  Shortly after, I found my tech joy in coding.  I took 'Intro to Programming in C' at Columbia University between my junior and senior years of high school.  I decided a degree in Computer Science was what I wanted from my college experience so that I could have a career in Software Development.  My father convinced me a Computer Engineering degree would be much more valuable in the job market in the long term.

I graduated from high school and went on to Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), where I studied Computer Engineering, ran Cross Country for 4 years, and a few seasons of Track & Field.  Upon graduating, I went on to work in banking, in a variety of technology roles.  The long hours made running incredibly difficult and for the most part, I became much more of a recreational runner, racing only occasionally.

Shortly after my father's tragic death, I left banking and joined a competitive running team.  In the time since, I've drastically improved as a runner, dropping nearly 10 minutes from my half marathon time, discovered an even deeper niche that I love in technology, mobile, and embraced my family's (both blood family and running family) passion for food.

At my most recent employer, Handshake,  I worked as a Software Engineer in Python, but that role took a turn as the technologies of the team expanded.  I used it as an opportunity to learn React to help tackle some of the work.  Going forward I am looking to continue my Full Stack role with a focus on Software architecture.